

Qaggiq: Nunavut Performing Arts & Cultural Learning Centre

^ςϧ·Γ⊲ϧϲϳ Qaggiavuut!

Despite the richness of the Inuit artistic heritage, Nunavut is the only territory/province in Canada without a performing arts space. *Qaggiq*, a space where stories, music, theatre and cultural performances are created and presented is crucial to maintaining Inuit culture and language and to empowering Inuit, especially youth, through artistic expression.

I support the work of *Qaggiavuut*, a non-profit society dedicated to strengthening and advocating for Nunavut's performing artists, as they raise funds and build supportive partnerships for the building of *Qaggiq*, a Nunavut Performing Arts & Cultural Learning Centre. Stories and songs are an important part of history and the key to strengthening the Inuit culture and language for future generations. Canada needs the Qaggiq!

The Friends of Qaggiavuut Advisory

This volunteer advisory group of leaders in the Canadian arts community provide expertise and support to Qaggiavuut in the design, building and programming of **Qaggiq**: **Nunavut Performing Arts & Cultural Learning Centre**.

Susan Aglukark C.M. Governor General's Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award, multiple Juno award-winning artist

Shelley Ambrose Executive Director, The Walrus Foundation

Gideon Arthurs CEO, National Theatre School of Canada

David Auster Producer, Stratford Festival

Tricia Baldwin Director, Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts

Martha Burns Award winning actor and director on stage and screen

Helen Burstyn Director TIFF, Luminato, Canadian Opera Company

Adrienne Clarkson C.C.: 26th Governor General of Canada

Cynthia Dale, Award winning actor, singer and dancer on stage and screen

Aengus Finnan Executive Director, Folk Alliance International

Peter Herrndorf C.C., O.On CEO National Arts Centre

Lucille Joseph Vice-Chairperson Luminato Festival; Director, The Walrus Foundation

Karen Kain C.C., LL.D, D.Litt, O.Ont. Artist Director, National Ballet of Canada

Douglas Knight Chair of Governor General's Performing Arts Awards

Peter Lamb Principal PWL Associates, Theatrical Producer, Production Manager

Alysa Procida Executive Director, Inuit Arts Foundation

Brian Robertson Canadian Music Hall of Fame, Co-Founder of the Juno Awards

Donald Schmitt Principal, Diamond Schmitt Architects

John Ralston Saul C.C. O.Ont. Philosopher, Writer

Tanya Tagaq C.M. Polaris Prize & Juno award winning artist

Veronica Tennant C.C.. LL.D, D.Litt, FRSC, Award winning producer, director, artist

