February 11, 2021



Qilaut is Nunavut's annual Inuktut songwriting contest. The purpose of the contest is to celebrate our vibrant Inuktut music scene and inspire the creation of more original music in Inuktut. The pandemic has put a lot of strain on us, so this your chance to help bring renewed life and happiness to our lives. We encourage songs of happiness and celebration, that make you want to smile or dance. We would also love original songs that bring humour and make us all laugh. Maybe you’re the next Simon Sijjagiaq or Charlie Paniguniak? 

This is a Government of Nunavut program intended to strengthen the use of Inuktut in all areas of our lives (as directed by the Inuit Language Protection Act). This year, Qilaut is being co-presented by Qaggiavuut in partnership with the Department of Culture and Heritage.

Each year, Nunavummiut are invited to submit original Inuktut songs to the contest, and in 2021, our winners will be selected by YOU! Yes, that’s right; for the first time, Nunavummiut will decide the winning songs through an online voting system. Ten winners will be selected to receive a cash prize! Winners will be announced on February 28th, 2021.


The theme of Qilaut 2021 is Quviasuutiqarniq (celebration)!

Between Wednesday, February 10th, 2021 and Wednesday, February 24th, 2021 midnight EST, email your entry to qilaut@qaggiavuut.com.

Please include ALL of the following:

  • A digital copy of your song (.MP3 or .WAV)
  • Song title and lyrics
  • Your name(s) and band name (if applicable)
  • A photo of the singer(s)
  • Your hamlet(s)
  • A copy of the contest entry form


The top three winners will receive $5,000, $2,500 and $1,500 respectively, and the seven runners-up receive $500 each. That’s nearly $13,000 in prize money to be won!


Between February 25th and February 27th, 2021, Nunavummiut will be able to vote for their favourite songs on this website. Stay tuned for an announcement when voting starts. All the songs will be available for listening online. Winners will be announced on February 28th, 2021.


To see previous years’ winners, click here.